21 September 2016 at 13:52

In this lesson, we imported another cityscape and modified it. Firstly, we copied the background image and then quick selected the background (excluding the buildings) and deleted it. We then (with the background selected) created a gradient of our choice and replaced it with the new layer.

Here are some in-depth steps that explain the process of how I changed the image:

Step 1: Firstly, I set up a blank document in photoshop.

Step 2: I slightly changed the settings. I went to Edit > Scrolled down to preferences > then clicked on performance. I then increased the history status, so that I could undo more states.

Step 2: Once I had imported the image into photoshop, I then locked it in place and then duplicated it.

Step 4: I selected the Background using the Quick selection Tool (which is situated on the tools panel on the left-hand side of the screen), I also made sure that I didn’t include any of the buildings within the selection process.

Step 5: Once I had selected the whole of the Background, I then deleted it, and created a New Layer.

Step 6: I named the New Layer “sky” and chose the “Gradient” Tool, on the Tool panel on the left-hand side of the screen.

Step 7: I chose two colours on the Gradient settings and then held the mouse from the top-middle of the image while holding shift (so that it was a perfect line), all the way down to the bottom of the image.

Step 8: I then moved this New Gradient Layer in between the masked layer and the locked layer, this was so that it replaced the background and wasn’t blocking the whole image.

cityscape-22.jpg
Original Image
Destructive_cityscape-2.png
Modified Image
